New to collecting

Welcome to the Precious Metals Bug Forums

Welcome to the PMBug forums - a watering hole for folks interested in gold, silver, precious metals, sound money, investing, market and economic news, central bank monetary policies, politics and more. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Why not register an account and join the discussions? When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, market data/charts, access to trade/barter with the community and much more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Mark

Predaceous Stink Bug
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to Precious metals collecting and really like silver. Gold is too expensive for me. I have a question and maybe you can point me to a previous post which discussed this. I see silver is $29.00 +/- per troy oz. but everywhere I look, it seems there is about 10% to 15% added to the current value. Other than something like old coins and items of intrinsic value, why would a 1oz. ingot sell for $35.00 vs. the $29.00 current value?
Thanks for the help.

Welcome!
:wave:

You asked a very broad question with a long full answer.

Short answer:
The "Spot" price is the price to buy what is called paper silver such as the ETF stock SLV. The price for physical silver is a tad higher.

On top of that you have the premium for the collectabiliy of that individual piece (one reason why a bar of silver is usually cheaper than coins), the premium that dealer is charging you to make a profit, and shipping/insurance/ect.

Short answer:
The "Spot" price is the price to buy what is called paper silver such as the ETF stock SLV. The price for physical silver is a tad higher.