is anyone a programmer (python)?

Welcome to the Precious Metals Bug Forums

Welcome to the PMBug forums - a watering hole for folks interested in gold, silver, precious metals, sound money, investing, market and economic news, central bank monetary policies, politics and more. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Why not register an account and join the discussions? When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, market data/charts, access to trade/barter with the community and much more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

oppie2005

Predaceous Stink Bug
Reaction score
im trying to learn programming, and the tutorial that i am using has been pretty good, but has exercises at the end of each lesson. For the most part, im doing pretty decent with the exercises, but could use a little help on some of them.....if anyone is fluent....

I'm a programmer, but I have no experience with Python. If you have questions of a general nature, I can probably help.

ok. i dont know if you can help or not, cause im inexperienced, and dont know how similar the "problem" is with other languages.

the exercise says to define a function to give the sum of of all integer numbers up to and including n using the accumulator pattern. the example earlier in the tutorial for the accumulator pattern was for calculating the square root of n.

an earlier exercise was to define the same "sumTo" function, using a different way to calculate it

def sumTo(n):
y = (n * (n+1))/2
return y

Im understanding the accumulator pattern to mean updating a variable for each cycle through a for loop that would add up each number in the range of n, instead of in the example above where multiplication and division is used.

does my ramblings make any sense? i think i have confused myself even further in this process lol.