Greetings from a silver newbe who needs some advice

Welcome to the Precious Metals Bug Forums

Welcome to the PMBug forums - a watering hole for folks interested in gold, silver, precious metals, sound money, investing, market and economic news, central bank monetary policies, politics and more. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, market data/charts, access to trade/barter with the community and much more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

charlesbjr

Fly on the Wall
Reaction score
Good evening folks,
I am pretty new to buying silver and didn't know if I had to worry about fakes, so I want to ask the experts.
I buy primarily 1 ounce rounds or bars for the actual silver content, as I don't buy for collectibility. But I often hear folks getting taken by couterfitters and didn't know if I should worry about this or not.
I have only purchasd silver from JM Bullion and they have been great. But I decided to do a few of the following tests and here are my results:
1) The ping test was ok, but I kept knocking the coin off my finger;
2) I tried the rare earth magnet test and it did not stick. In fact it did roll off slowly;
3) A drop of bleach did leave a tarnish mark.
Believe me, I have NO reason to doubt JM, in fact I hear they are one of the best to deal with and I love their prices and prompt service. But the cost is piling up and I was not sure if I should do a random acid test or buy the TM8212 Ultrasonice tester.
These may sound like dumb quesions but this is so new for me.
Any advide would be appeciated.
Thanks!!

Hi Charles, welcome to the forum. :hello: