New to PM Bug and PM Investing

Welcome to the Precious Metals Bug Forums

Welcome to the PMBug forums - a watering hole for folks interested in gold, silver, precious metals, sound money, investing, market and economic news, central bank monetary policies, politics and more. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Why not register an account and join the discussions? When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, market data/charts, access to trade/barter with the community and much more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

mazztech

Fly on the Wall
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm currently looking to invest my money as I've been working now only for 6-7 years and have a savings that I am planning on using to buy a new home. I'm currently working in China with the majority of my cash pile in RMB and some in USD. I know at some point in the future all my hard work may crumble if I don't transfer my currency into some real cash assets. However I'm very new and don't want to just buy randomly and will be looking for advice to develop a strategy and eventually make some purchases.

If anyone have any recommendations on where someone should start for developing an understanding of the market, I'd be greatly appreciative. I noticed there wasn't a sticky for newbies like myself.

Thanks for your time and I hope to get to get to know everyone shortly!

Hi mazztech, welcome to the forum. :wave:

If you are looking to invest in physical metal, the exact form you choose might depend a bit on where you plan to live (like which country). Different bars/ingots, (official government issue) coins and (private mint) rounds have varying liquidity (market acceptance) in different locales. Of course, there are (may) also (be) other considerations.